Crystal Group Innovation Scholarship

2020-2021 Innovation Scholarship

The Crystal Group Innovation Scholarship is awarded each year to (2) full-time students pursuing an undergraduate degree within the School of Business, the School of Engineering, or related majors.

Undergraduate business programs include majors and/or minors in Finance, Business Administration, Marketing, Human Resources, Sales, or any other major within the business program. Mass Communications and Public Relations majors within the School of Liberal Arts are also welcome to apply.

Undergraduate engineering programs are those offering a bachelor’s degree in engineering.

All scholarship winners receive a non-renewable scholarship of $1,000 payable directly to the institution in which they are enrolled.


The Innovation Scholarship, sponsored by Crystal Group, was founded in 2014 as a way to celebrate and encourage the spirit of innovation. At Crystal Group, we embrace innovation in all aspects of our business, including our rugged computing product line, our approach to sales, marketing and engineering, and our business culture.


To be eligible for this scholarship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Enrolled full-time in an undergraduate business program (major), engineering program (major), or related major working toward a bachelor’s degree, at an accredited two-year or four-year institution, located in the United States.
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Must have completed at least 60 semester hours to be eligible
  • Submit typed (double-spaced) essay answering one of the posed questions
  • Crystal Group employees, and their family members are NOT eligible

Note: Past winners and applicants of this scholarship are eligible to re-apply in future years.



All applications must be postmarked no later than May 1, 2020.  Scholarship awards will be announced the week of May 29, 2020.


Click here to download application.

2019-2020 Winners

Alec Jobbins is currently a junior Mechanical Engineering major at the University of California – Berkeley.  Alec is from South Lake Tahoe, where he grew up ski racing and later coaching.  He is a four time Junior Olympian and state champion for slalom ski racing.  Alec was valedictorian of his graduating class in 2016 at South Tahoe High School, where he  was extremely involved in the National Honor Society and the Key Club, serving his community by participating in numerous volunteer activities.  At U.C. Berkeley, he is an active member of the Berkeley Formula SAE Competition Team, designing and manufacturing formula race cars.  He has also conducted research for an INSTAR Controls Lab at U.C. Berkeley.  Alec is a student member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the National Society of Professional Engineers, and the International Society of Automation.  He is also a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success.  Alec will be interning at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory this summer, and graduating in May of 2020.


Chris Lopez is a Sophomore in the University Honors Program at Iowa State University studying Computer Engineering with a minor in Music Technology. He had the opportunity this semester to study abroad in Limerick, Ireland and will become a Study Abroad Peer Mentor next year. At Iowa State, he enjoys working on projects both individual and course related. He has been an active member in Critical Tinkers, a project based club for Electrical and Computer Engineers, and served as the website and publications chair for Eta Kappa Nu, an International Honors Society for Electrical and Computer Engineers. Last summer, he worked as an Engineering Intern at Crystal Group, and this summer Chris will be working as a Software Engineering Intern with Garmin. He plans to graduate in four years only nine credits shy of a master’s degree. In his free time, he enjoys cooking, photography, and swimming with friends. In his future career, Chris would love to be creative in designing new products or ideas. He is honored and grateful to be a recipient of the Crystal Group Innovation Scholarship.